Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: problems with directRT input file (case 17696)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12

    problems with directRT input file (case 17696)

    Hi,
    After running an input file for a year or so, we suddenly experience a problem.
    The error is : This does not appear to be a directRT input file.
    When I look at the input file, it seems that some path names are with upper case letters and some with lower case.
    Wasn't sure this was similar before the error appeared.
    Didn't find any other reason.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks,
    Shimrit
    Last edited by jason_reed; 01-01-2015 at 10:59 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    Hi Shimrit,

    Is your DirectRT input file located on the same hard drive as the DirectRT program itself? That situation usually allows for DirectRT files to function normally with the actual DirectRT program.

    Did you recently move the input from one location (e.g., from Dropbox or a thumb drive) to a different one so that the error occurred after moving the file? Or have you always run your DirectRT input file from the same location and the error message then popped up for no apparent reason?

    Did the computer itself have any software updates or installations before the DirectRT error message?

    Finally, please send me a copy of the DirectRT input file itself and an example of this pathway with mixed upper and lower-case characters. It would be helpful if you could also point out where the pathway name is different from that of the actual files on your computer that the pathway name references.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12
    Hi Jason,

    Is your DirectRT input file located on the same hard drive as the DirectRT program itself? YES


    I have always ran DirectRT input file from the same location and the error message then popped up for no apparent reason.

    I don't think there were any software updates or installations before the DirectRT error message.

    I am sending you a copy of the medialab and DirectRT input files. See lines 4 and 5 compared to line 3 in the questionnaire. "Experimens" (the right pathway) became "experiments". The same thing happened with the letter R in the csv name, but I change it back, again and again.

    I hope my example is clear.
    Thank you for all your help,
    Shimrit
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    Try running the attached .que file by placing it in the same file folder as your other .bmp and DirectRT .csv files. As long as all of the external files that a MediaLab .que or .exp file refers to are in the same folder, you only have to put the name of the external files (i.e., your .bmp and .csv files) in the File Name field of your MediaLab files instead of the full patwhay names. Let's see if this will get around any issues that you may have with using the full pathway names.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12

    error

    Hi Jason,
    I keep getting the same error from executeRT: "This does not appear to be a DirectRT input file"
    Any more ideas?

    Regards,
    Shimrit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    Shimrit,

    What are the full version numbers (e.g. v.20xx.x.xxx) of your copies of DirectRT and MediaLab? You can find them by opening the programs and looking at the very top left corner of the main program window or selecting Help>About DirectRT/MediaLab from the main menu bar.

    Also, do you get this error message if you try running your .csv input file only in DirectRT as opposed to using a DirectRT item type in a .que MediaLab file?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12
    direct rt v2008.1.0.13
    medialab v2008.1.11
    Yes, directRT had a problem opening the file.
    I fixed the problem, by opening the file using txt I found that the word "BLOCK" in the file disappeared. Don't understand why and how this happened.
    Also, suddenly some of my txt files with the stimuli list now have an empty line, that causes black screens to appear. Not sure how this could happen after the experiment was working just fine the entire semester.
    Do you think there may be a bug in the software?

    Shimrit

    Quote Originally Posted by jason_reed View Post
    Shimrit,

    What are the full version numbers (e.g. v.20xx.x.xxx) of your copies of DirectRT and MediaLab? You can find them by opening the programs and looking at the very top left corner of the main program window or selecting Help>About DirectRT/MediaLab from the main menu bar.

    Also, do you get this error message if you try running your .csv input file only in DirectRT as opposed to using a DirectRT item type in a .que MediaLab file?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    Try downloading the appropriate version of DirectRT and MediaLab 2008 from here: http://www.empirisoft.com/download_old.aspx.

    If you're using a computer with Windows XP, try DirectRT 2008.1.13 and MediaLab 2008.1.33.

    If you're using a computer with Windows 7, try DirectRT 2008.2.103 and MediaLab 2008.1.33e.

    Let me know what Windows operating system you used with your current versions of DirectRT and MediaLab and how the change in the versions of the software work.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrade to DirectRT 2012 and the input file will no longer run (case 10673)
    By YLAB in forum DirectRT v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-15-2013, 02:15 PM
  2. Upgrade from DirectRT 2010 to DirectRT 2012 input files no longer run(case 5390)
    By jholzinger in forum DirectRT v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-19-2013, 11:31 AM
  3. Problems Running Input Files
    By tstromp in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 01:42 PM
  4. input file crashes DirectRT on 1 computer
    By sjlee0623 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2007, 07:20 AM
  5. DirectRT generating extra copies of my input file?
    By jarvis24 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2006, 12:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •