Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: custom and html files' problem (case 16275)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    3

    custom and html files' problem (case 16275)

    Hi administrator and fellow medialab users

    While running the experiment, i had met with two technical problems that i need help with.
    1) I had inserted the slider file that i downloaded from medialab forum and used it in my experiment. There are script error that pop up and says "script has stop running. do you want to continue running the script?" at any random question that made use of the slider file. I need to end medialab and restart it in order to solve it, so that previous entries are all lost and participants had to do them again.

    2) I had inserted one html file that involves participants getting a pop-up saying they have the wrong answer every time they submit their answer. There are three questions in a row that use this same html file. However sometimes after the first question, the participant see the screen suddenly change to one that displays all the files i have in that folder for that questionnaire.

    By the way i am using Medialab 2008 version and the files i am using are zip inside for reference.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by jason_reed; 09-23-2014 at 12:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    Please try running your files using MediaLab 2014.1.108 and see if you experience the same errors. You can download a copy here: http://www.empirisoft.com/Download.aspx?index=4. You can ask for a free 21-day trial when you send the 14-character license to service@empirisoft.com.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    3
    As the medialab is owned by the lab i can't install any other version as i liked so i had to stick to this version of medialab. I had ensured that the debugging mode for internet explorer is turned off as suggested in previous thread but the script error still occurs. Any other way out?

    Thanks very much for helping out.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    It may be due to MediaLab trying to use an earlier version of Internet Explorer than the one that you have currently installed. There may be something else to see if it resolves the issue, but I need to know a few things:


    1) What Windows operating system do you have and is it the 32-bit or 64-bit version? You can find out the second piece of information if you click on the Start button, highlight Computer and right-click and then select Properties in the box that shows up.


    2) What version of Internet Explorer is installed on your computer?


    3) What is the full version number (i.e. ver.20xx.x.xxx) of your copy of MediaLab? You can find this by opening MediaLab and selecting Help>About MediaLab.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    3
    Hi Jason

    1) It is window XP and it's running on 32bit.

    2) IE 8 is installed.

    3) 2008.1.20

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    Please try downloading and installing the latest version of MediaLab 2008.1.33. You can find the link to download it here: http://www.empirisoft.com/download_old.aspx. Before installing, please make sure to save any .que or .exp files used by any experiment in an external location. Try it and let me know if you experience the same errors.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. problem in data recording from custom/html items
    By johann.jacoby in forum MediaLab Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 07:45 AM
  2. recording data from custom html item
    By ljubica in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-23-2010, 09:39 AM
  3. Trouble with custom html files
    By rimma in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2009, 06:22 PM
  4. Problem with having only 1 variable in Custom Item HTML
    By xaros in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-25-2008, 12:55 PM
  5. Problem with (umlaut) when using html-custom items
    By Henrik in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2008, 04:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •