Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Voice recording quality

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14

    Voice recording quality

    I am having trouble with the voice data recording feature in Media Lab. We need to record participants' verbal responses to a prompt. We have a microphone that works fine, and the recording is switching on properly. However, the quality of the recording in MediaLab is really terrible. This is problematic because we will want to listen and code the responses later. There is a lot of static and strange noises that make it painful to listen to the voice data.

    I saw a similar post on this subject, but unfortunately, swapping out mics has not solved the problem for me. I have tried 4 different microphones (I tried both standing and headset mics, and one of the headsets was brand new) - and they all have static. I have also ruled out the microphone as a problem because when I tested out the microphone by itself using the Sound Recorder utility in Windows, without Media Lab, the sound is crystal clear. The problem only occurs when recording within Media Lab. We have v.2006 of the software.

    What can I do to improve the sound quality or decrease the static?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,318
    Does this replicate across multiple computers?

    Can you send me a copy of the questionnaire file and a sample sound output file? Can you also generate and send me a dxdiag.txt file? I'll take a look and see if I can determine what's going on.

    For generating a dxdiag.txt file, see:
    www.empirisoft.com/medialab/help/trouble_shooting.htm

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,318
    [edited from related support email]

    I found that when I click on "microphone sound boost" it works much better. You may want to let people know that in Windows' "control panel", under "sound and recording", then "sounds" and "advanced properties", they can find microphone boost to check on.

Similar Threads

  1. stopping voice response recording with spacebar
    By tndotson@ucdavis.edu in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-22-2011, 08:01 PM
  2. record voice response and continue while recording
    By ReginaK in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 04:43 PM
  3. Recording Voice Response Question
    By mtszot in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 02:12 PM
  4. Video quality doesn't look quite right in DirectRT
    By jarvis24 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2006, 06:45 PM
  5. When do voice RTs begin recording?
    By jarvis24 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2006, 01:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •