Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: trouble running inquisit session in medialab (case 4905)

  1. #1

    trouble running inquisit session in medialab (case 4905)

    I am trying to run an IAT inquisit file in a medialab questionaire. I have selected "inquisit session" item type and I have entered the inquisit file in which I would like to insert in the file field. When I run the medialab questionarie, a page that says "please wait..." is all that appears where the inquisit file should be. How can I get medialab to run this inquisit file?

    Thanks
    Last edited by jason_reed; 12-14-2015 at 10:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320
    I recall there were a couple builds of Inquisit that were not compatible with MediaLab but Sean Draine fixed those issues pretty quick. What version of Inquisit and what version of MediaLab are you running?

  3. #3
    I am running inquisit 3.0.2.0 and MediaLab 2008.1.13.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320
    Can you zip and post or send me a copy of your experiment folder? You can leave out any large stimulus files if applicable.

  5. #5
    Here is the questionaire and the inquisit file.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320
    Might be a path issue--try placing the Inquisit file in the same folder as your MediaLab experiment and see if that help. I have also heard some reports of trouble with accessing files located in folder on the desktop or other special "my ..." kinds of folders which are really more like pointers or shortcuts than traditional folders.

  7. #7
    I orignally did have the inquisit file in the same folder but that hasn't worked either. It's not a big deal anymore, because I ended up creating a directRT file to use instead of using the inquisit file.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320
    Well, that's one way to solve it! If anyone else runs into this problem and ends up seeing this thread in search of an answer, please let me know and I expect Sean would be willing to help work it out.

  9. #9

    Problems running Inquisit 3 with Media Lab

    I am also having trouble running Inquisit 3 with Media Lab. I have the Inquisit file in the same folder as the Media Lab files. I noticed that the Inquisit file opens as a Media Lab file since they have the same 'exp' extension; is this part of the problem? The error I get when I try to run the Media Lab experiment file with the Inquisit file is: 'Run Time Error 53 File not Found'.

    Any suggestions?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320
    Can you zip and attach or send us your whole experiment folder. Actually, a reduced version with just enough content to demonstrate the problem would be ideal. If we can replicate the problem here, we can probably figure out what the source of the issue is.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320

    Update: July 8, 2008

    Thanks to the users who sent us their MediaLab+Inquisit folders to play with. We think it has something to do with Inquisit 3 and the way MediaLab calls Inquisit sessions. It used to be that MediaLab could automatically detect the location of Inquisit.exe, but now it can't--this results in the file not found error. I think it has something to do with registry entries that are made during the Inquisit 3 installation. Consequently, the version of MediaLab you have probably won’t make any difference. I just emailed Sean Draine and he said he would look into it and see if he can find a fix. As I mentioned above, he's usually pretty quick to take care of stuff like this once we figure out what's going on.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320
    Here is a temporary fix offered by Sean. I just tried it and it seems to work--thanks Sean!
    You should be able to work around this problem by adding the Inquisit program folder to the system PATH variable. Specifically, do the following:
    1. Right click the My Computer and select Properties
    2. Click the Advanced Tab
    3. Click the Environment Variables button
    4. Scroll down through the System Variables list until you see Path
    5. Double click the Path variable to edit it
    6. Append the following to the end of the variable value (Important: do not delete the existing value--just add the following!!)
      Code:
      ;C:\Program Files\Millisecond Software\Inquisit 3
    7. Note: If you've installed Inquisit to another drive (e.g., D, E, F, ...), then replace C with your drive letter.
    8. If you have Media Lab running, shut it down and restart it so that picks up the new path value. At that point, it should be able to locate the Inquisit.exe file from this point on.

  13. #13

    Trouble Running Inquisit in Media Lab

    The path modification worked! Many thanks to both of you for finding this solution.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320
    Glad to hear it did the trick.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1
    [edited by moderator]

    We were having the same issue with our experiment. We configured the path for the hotfix as stated above, but came up with the same problem. We seem to have discovered the answer! Here are our steps to solving the issue.

    1. Use the hotfix as offered in the above posts (changing path file)
    2. Make sure the Medialab experiment containing Inquisit is saved as a questionnaire.
    3. In the questionnaire make sure the Inquisit sessions is loaded as such, along with the new path directory.
    4. Move all files associated (such as Jpegs, word documents) to that directory as stated in the hotfix (such as C:\ProgramFiles\Millisecond Software\Inquisit 3\suchandsuch.jpg)

    Hope this helps, I'm not sure how it wasn't working before. Thanks.
    Last edited by jarvis24; 09-17-2008 at 02:02 PM.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,320
    Thanks for the update!

  17. #17

    Same problem for ML2010, but fix still works

    I just came across this issue with ML2010 running on Windows 7. The fix worked (changing the 'Path'). This might be useful to users thinking that a fix from 2008 might no longer be relevant.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Still having this problem

    I've tried all of the file path-related fixes suggested above, but I still can't get an Inquisit session to run in MediaLab. I saved a questionnaire with the Inquisit session as an item type, but when I run that questionnaire, I get a screen asking me to wait, then I click continue when instructed, then it pops out of that experiment without ever running the Inquisit session. I've attached all of the relevant files. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by jason_reed; 12-14-2015 at 10:52 PM.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3

    Different path fix

    I had the same problem, and the hotfix had trouble working for me at first- not because of the C:\ or D:\ directory, but rather that Inquisit was installed in C:\Program Files (x86)\Millisecond Software\Inquisit 3 not Program Files. Even when copying from the path name from the folder properties this x86 was edited out, so do be careful of the pathway. Once I fixed this, and then restarted media lab, it worked.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,092
    Thanks for that suggestion, elair2007!
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  21. #21
    I just ran into the same problem - sometimes I would get a direct x E_OUTOFMEMORY error when medialab got to the inquisit portion and sometimes nothing would happen. For some reason though I got it to work by right clicking the medialab icon, going to properties, compatibility, and unchecking the "Run this program in compatibility mode for..." box (we had it enabled for Windows XP Service Pack 3). Not sure why but now the inquisit portion runs smoothly.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,092
    Thanks for sharing this information, affectlab.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  23. #23

    Problems running Inquisit 4 in MediaLab

    Like others, I am having problems running Inquisit 4 in MediaLab v2010. I get the message in MediaLab saying "processing please wait" then it goes to "hit continue" and goes back to MediaLab sessions. I have been searching around a bit and it seems there are some issues with Inquisit 4? I have tried to troubleshoot by changing the location of files, and I checked and Inquisit is saved on the C drive. One issue I have is that I have to run MediaLab through a shared "Public Documents" under My Documents, as my RAs login to my lab computers with their own IDs. Maybe this is an issue? Although MediaLab works just fine.

    I have Inquisit saved in: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs
    Maybe I need to update this?
    Any help would be appreciated as I hope to start running this Monday.
    Thanks!
    Last edited by aksesko; 03-22-2014 at 12:04 AM.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,092
    Take a look at the following forum thread: http://www.empirisoft.com/support/sh...light=Inquisit
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. MediaLab freezes, running on Vista
    By braseg in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 03:48 PM
  2. automatically stop running the session
    By aurelie Dommes in forum DirectRT Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2008, 08:48 AM
  3. Can MediaLab calculate scores and variables to use during the session?
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 11:13 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-11-2005, 03:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •