Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Radio buttons returning "ok" rather than value (case 25205)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4

    Radio buttons returning "ok" rather than value (case 25205)

    I've got a question with 3 radio buttons. I've tried a number of things, but all I ever get in the variable data file is "ok." Here is the code:
    <html>
    <body>

    <form name="form" method="post">

    What is your answer?<br />
    <input type="radio" name="choice" value="1">One<br />
    <input type="radio" name="choice" value="2">Two<br />
    <input type="radio" name="choice" value="3">Three<br /><p/>

    <input type="submit" value="Submit">
    </form>
    </body>
    </html>

    In my questionnaire file, I tried setting the item type to both "HTML" and "Custom," but neither worked.

    What factors could contribute to the problem?
    Last edited by jason_reed; 10-26-2016 at 08:34 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,093
    I don't see a line like this one in your code:

    <input name="textbox1">

    Replace textbox1 with the name of the item in your .que file and MediaLab should write the response to the data file.

    You should be able to insert this anywhere like before the input type line of code.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4
    If I add that code, it just adds a textbox. I'm hoping to just use the radio buttons. I can get data from textboxes to work, but not radio buttons.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,093
    I'd like to see your .que file and the .htm file. Please either upload them here or send them support@empirisoft.com and reference case 25205.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4
    I did some testing, and it turns out that it wasn't related to having an additional <input> tag. The problem was that the number in the "WriteText" column needs to match the number of radio button options offered. I had three choices, and the WriteText field defaults to 2. When I changed it to 3, it worked perfectly. I couldn't find anything in the manual about this field, and all questions in the forum about "WriteText" pointed to "write as text," which is different.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4
    Now I am having trouble with checkboxes. I have to make a selection and click "submit" the same number of times as there are options (so 3 options=submit 3 times). Is this related to the WriteText field, too? I was having the same issue with radio buttons before, but fixing the "writeText" field fixed that. Do you have a description of what the WriteText field does?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,093
    I'd like to see your .que file and the .htm file that use the checkbox. Please either upload them here or send them support@empirisoft.com and reference case 25205.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. matrices with radio buttons ? (case 24994)
    By moody.magda in forum MediaLab v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2017, 09:17 AM
  2. Issues with "responses" excel sheet not working (case 20771)
    By AndiRuybal in forum MediaLab v2018: How Do I...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-29-2015, 06:47 PM
  3. Problem with Correct output column and actual correct (case 5897)
    By tfk in forum DirectRT v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-26-2013, 02:16 PM
  4. data being recorded as "ok" and "99"
    By jcc814 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-11-2011, 11:03 AM
  5. html validation for radio buttons
    By robleslab in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-24-2007, 01:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •