Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: recording answers for fill in the blank without the enter key (case 21436)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    12

    recording answers for fill in the blank without the enter key (case 21436)

    Hi all,

    I have a questionnaire in which the participants are given 8 seconds to complete the cued word (file attached below). I am not allowing the participants to move on until the 8 seconds have passed in order to make sure that no one races through the item. I achieved doing so by disabling the enter key from the computer. However, with the fill-in-the-blank items, the responses that are typed without the enter key are recorded as 99. I see that some people in the past had the same problem and Jason suggested using custom items (http://www.empirisoft.com/medialab/h...stom_items.htm).
    I can't quite understand how I can use the custom items for my experiment, and I was wondering if there has been any new solution since the thread was created.

    Please let me know and thank you so much for your help!!

    Thanks,
    Clair
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by jason_reed; 10-21-2015 at 06:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    How did you disable the enter key?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    12
    I used the method introduced in this post:
    http://www.empirisoft.com/support/sh...ight=Enter+key

    Would there be any other way to disable the enter key so that the data will be encoded without the "enter"?

    Thank you so much for your help as always-- I truly appreciate it!

    Best,
    Clair

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,094
    If you actually want to completely disable the Enter key, the way that you linked to is the only one to use with the current versions of MediaLab.

    Could you please elaborate on exactly what is confusing you about the use of Custom items in MediaLab? Did you take a look at the explanation and examples of Custom items in the MediaLab manual here: http://www.empirisoft.com/medialab/h...stom_items.htm
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Fill-in-the-blank procedes via tab key? (case 482)
    By albertnow in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-08-2015, 07:31 PM
  2. Using Enter key for instructions items (case 21133)
    By Michael_Shreeves in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-25-2015, 04:15 PM
  3. Record data without "enter" press, using Fill-in-the-blank? (case 8121)
    By Banyan in forum MediaLab v2018: How Do I...
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-31-2014, 12:05 PM
  4. The enter key ( rt:28 ) is not responding.
    By Trevor Newell in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  5. Several Fill-In-The-Blank
    By bam in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-26-2009, 03:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •