Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: MediaLab with Chinese (case 16298)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3

    MediaLab with Chinese (case 16298)

    Hi Empirisoft,

    We are running a replication of our study in Chinese (the original one is in English). After changing all the relevant settings suggested in Help > Preference and Options> Foreign fonts, Chinese is still not displayed properly - it is either displayed as "????" in the questionnaire files, or gibberish while running txt files in MediaLab.

    In my own effort of trouble-shooting, I noticed that the Script selection was not saved. In Preferences > Edit Preferences > Fonts & Colors > Questionnaire Text > Select Font the selected font (SimSun, a simplified Chinese font) was saved, but in the pulldown menu Script, the selected "Chinese GB2312" wasn't saved. After selecting "Chinese GB2312", clicking OK and "Save changes to the default preferences file", the Script returns to "Western" when opening the same link again.

    Is it the root cause of the problem? How can we fix this? Thanks a lot in advance for your advice and help.

    All the best,
    jen
    Last edited by jason_reed; 09-24-2014 at 01:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    By the way, we are using Windows 7 (English OS with Chinese language support) and MediaLab 2012.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,093
    Try first choosing the appropriate option in Preferences > Character Set and then see if any changes you make in the Preferences > Edit Preferences > Font & Colors stick.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Hi Jason,

    Thanks for your suggestion. I chose "Default" in Preferences > Character Set, quit MediaLab. Reopen MediaLab, chose "Chinese Simplified), then made the changes in Preferences > Edit Preferences > Font & Colors again , but still it didn't stick.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,093
    Try making these changes to Windows 7 to see if they allow the display of Chinese characters:
    1) Go to control panel.
    2) Click on Region and Language, then select the Administrative tab.
    3) Click on Change System Locale button and select the desired language.

    It would also be helpful if you could upload a copy of the .que file giving you problems so that I can try it on my copy of MediaLab.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Chinese problem
    By joshatut in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 06:48 AM
  2. Chinese Language
    By hkusopsy in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 02:33 AM
  3. Does DirectRT support 8-bit Chinese characters?
    By danielyang in forum DirectRT Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-27-2008, 11:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •