Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Randomizing and Instruction screens

  1. #1

    Randomizing and Instruction screens

    Hello,
    I need to randomize between blocks and within blocks. The only problem is that I don't know how to assign the instruction screen a number so that it stays with each block and doesn't become randomized within the block itself. I tried using 0 for wgr and 1 for bgr, but that only keeps the instruction screen in a certain position that does not correspond to the proceeding trials. Visually, it looks like this:
    bgr wgr
    instructions 1 0
    trial1 1 1
    trial2 1 1
    instructions 1 0
    trial3 1 2
    trial4 1 2
    .
    .
    etc.

    thanks for any input.
    Last edited by Gary London; 01-16-2007 at 07:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,321
    Sounds like you are on the right track. WGR value should be 0. BGR value should be the same as the BGR value of the other items it belongs with. In your example, try assigning the second set of instructions and trials 3 and 4 a BGR value of 2.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by jarvis24 View Post
    In your example, try assigning the second set of instructions and trials 3 and 4 a BGR value of 2.
    If I set the BGR for trials 3 and 4 to 2, then I wouldn't I always receive trials 1 and 2 before trials 3 and 4? I want the blocks to be randomized so that I might receive trial 4 first, or maybe trial 2.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,321
    Code:
    bgr wgr
    instr1 1 0
    trial1 1 1
    trial2 1 1
    instr2 2 0
    trial3 2 2
    trial4 2 2
    This treats the first three items as a block and the second set of three as a block. The order of the two blocks will be randomized. Then within those blocks, the trial items will be randomized but the instructions will stay put.

    Does that make sense or am I missing something?

  5. #5
    I was under the impression that the bgr needed to remain the same number for it to be randomized (like the wgr column). But I did what you said and it worked! thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Capturing screens as images using PrintScreen?
    By jarvis24 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2008, 03:23 PM
  2. Formatting Feedback and Instruction Screens
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-17-2006, 09:01 AM
  3. Timed instruction with automatic continuation
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 04:01 PM
  4. randomizing location
    By mpg9 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 02:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •