Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: DirectIn Precise Keyboard

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    DirectIn Precise Keyboard

    just bought this keyboard: it is recognized on my XP machine if I plug it directly into the PC. However, if I use an extension cord it is not recognized. Any specifications of what a USB extension cord would have to do to work with this keyboard?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    294
    Is the cord you bought a passive type (just copper wires inside) or is there some magic which -in theory- allows for cables longer than the official USB spec of 5 meters?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,321
    John--does that mean you can use a USB extension cord so long as the total length doesn't exceed ~15 feet?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    294
    The official USB spec calls for a 5M maximum cable length.

    There are some USB 'extender' systems which use cat5 or fiber optic cable to increase this range to several hundred feet. However, to my knowledge none have successfully worked with our keyboards and button boxes.

Similar Threads

  1. The Inner Workings of Empirisoft's DirectIN Keyboards...
    By JEC in forum Hardware: How Do I...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2007, 05:41 PM
  2. DirectIN Hardware in Parallel with Existing Keyboard
    By JEC in forum Hardware: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 03:05 PM
  3. Instructions for the DirectIN Boxes
    By JEC in forum Hardware Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2006, 04:30 PM
  4. Instructions for the DirectIN Boxes
    By JEC in forum Hardware: How Do I...
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2005, 11:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •