Empirisoft Support

Welcome to Empirisoft Support

Thread: Dot-Probe script

Dot-Probe script

Hi everyone,
    I'm a current psychology honours student and I'll be using a dot-probe task in my experiment. I was just wondering whether anyone might be kind enough to donate a dot-probe script that could help me get started as I'm totally new to all this software.
    I'm planning to present a fixation cross for 1000ms, then a word pair for 500ms, then one of the words is replaced by the dot probe (randomly). In some trials, word pairs will be presented for only 40ms, then replaced by a mask of crosses for 460ms. I also need word pairs to be randomised for each participant.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Nancy

Nancy,

Have you had the chance to run through all of the samples?
    If you take some time to read through the documentation and try out the samples, I'm sure you'll be able to create your experiment without too much trouble at all.

Regards,
    Trevor

Possible dotprobe script

Yes, I have gone through the samples and I have figured out most things, although I'm confused about how to present two words on either side of the screen at the same time then disappear together and be replaced by a dot probe. I can't use 0 for the time column since I only need the words to appear for 500ms. When I put in 500ms for both words in the time column, they are obviously appearing one after the other for 500ms each.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Nancy,
    I did it in this way:

stim,loc,time
    ~left word,"256,0,1",0,
    ~right word ,"768,0,0",500,
    dot,"256,0,1","rt:30,76",*

or better:
    ~left word,"256,0,1",0,~right word,"768,0,0",500,dot,"256,0,1","rt:30,76",*
    (LOC is in quotation marks, I guess that's the important fact for you)