Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How about "else" as incorrect response in rt:text items

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    38

    How about "else" as incorrect response in rt:text items

    anyway to work this?
    can't specify all incorrect responses as they are virtually infinate. all i want to do is give incorrect (but not correct) feedback to an open ended response.

    best,
    baruch

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,323
    What if you could skip them out immediately if they get it correct, but otherwise an "incorrect" stim would follow the text stim within the same trial?

    Like this for trial 50: rt:text,cat>-51 followed on the same line by an "~incorrect" stimulus for whatever duration.

    In this case, if they enter "cat" then they are skipped out immediately (via the negative sign on the skip-to trial value) and they never see the otherwise inevitable "incorrect".

    I haven't tried immediate skips like this on text responses but I think this ought to work as it would on regular trials.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    38

    Nice! (but not there, yet...)

    This seems like a nice sollution but i still have some issues - i need to randomize my trials, so where does dRT go when >-5 for example is stated? does it go to the 5 order trial (after randomization)? if so its fine - as then the randomized order will be kept, but if it goes to trial 5 there will be a mess.

    Another issue that is even more crucial to me is having a time limit to rt:text - is the possible to achieve through the meta command?

    Thanks,
    Baruch

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,323
    For the first issue, you would probably want to have your trial order constant and randomize your stimuli via random draws from stimlists. For the second issue, no, right now a meta command can not break a user out of a text response. Just haven't found a way to get around a couple technical issues with it.

Similar Threads

  1. Make participant move slider before pressing "continue"
    By JBeaudry in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 04:07 PM
  2. Specifying "other" in a scale response
    By cww3 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-13-2008, 03:17 PM
  3. Changing the text of the "continue" button
    By hrasinski in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-10-2008, 04:45 PM
  4. Essay Qn: "Runtime Error 76, Path not Found"
    By jswong2@uiuc.edu in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-17-2008, 03:02 PM
  5. Get a value of "none" as a response option?
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 08:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •