Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Missing LOC value

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309

    Missing LOC value

    [edited from support email]

    I'm having a little programming difficulty. I've attached my Excel file.
    When I try to run this file, I receive a message that says something like, "Row 13 has a missing value in the LOC column." Any idea what this could be?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    In your stimulus:

    ~Was this the number you were told to remember (press F key for "yes",
    J key for "no")? 731269

    The double quotes and/or the comma may be causing the trouble since these characters have special meaning in a comma delimited file. Try this stimulus without the double quotes first (maybe use single quotes?) and then without the comma is that doesn't work.

  3. #3
    Hi Jarvis.
    I'm having the same problem too. It says line 11 has a value for a loc column.
    Here is my input file.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    First thing I noticed is that you have what looks to be two Time columns (columns N and O). Do you want the stimuli displayed for 200ms or do you want to capture and RT? Do you see what I mean?

  5. #5
    ahhh!
    i can't believe i missed that.
    excellent. thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Missing LOC and Missing Time

    Hi Jarvis,

    I've started developing my test on an XP machine while the Vista edition is being sorted, but am getting a similar problem to others in having a 'Missing LOC value in Row 2'. This doesn't happen if I delete the 'bgr' and 'wgr' columns, but then I get the message 'Row 16 has missing Time value', despite having identical time values to those before it. Originally the attached file was much larger and I was told Row 32 had the problem, so I removed that section without touching anything before it - and that's when it gave the same message about row 16. What do you think? Is the fact I'm using mpeg files anything to do with it?

    Regards
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23

    Missing LOC value as well

    I seem to be getting the "missing value in LOC in row _" as well, but I none of the other suggestions seem applicable. Any suggestions (my file is attached).
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    MLM--I think yours is being caused because you have an extra RWG column inserted after your Style column. I think those value maybe should go into the WGR column and then the RWG column can be deleted. I know there was some confusion in the documentation at some point of RWG vs WGR but they are both acronyms for the same function.

    L4Lab--I think yours is coming from having a comment column placed before the block and trial columns rather than after. See the standard priming sample in the applications sample folder for a relevant example.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Similar problems

    Hi,

    I have version 2004, and I'm having some similar problems with the following error messages and the study won't run. However, if I keep trying to run the file the error messages occasionally do NOT pop up and I am able to run it.

    missing LOC in row 5
    missing LOC in row 317

    I have already removed all the commas and quotation marks from the text files associated with these rows (I'm not sure if the header "row" counts as a row, so I removed commas and quotes from Excel rows 5, 6, 317, and 318).

    Also, DirectRT occasionally gives me an error message regarding those rows that says I reference a nonexistent "style 0" when the cell indicates a style of 4.

    Thanks!
    Kathryn
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by karmacap; 03-06-2008 at 12:04 PM. Reason: forgot stuff

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    I have not heard of this before but you might check the content of the text files you are referencing as stimuli on those rows. It may be that the problematic content exists in there somewhere. Odd though. I could not reproduce the errors here but I don't have v2004 on my machine (just 2006 and 2008). If playing with the text file content does no good you can zip the whole thing into a single file and send it to us as support@...com as an attachment and I'll check it out.

    <update March 24th, 2010>

    I did just notice that the rows preceding those mentioned include the syntax RT: ANY. I do know some problems have occasionally been caused when spaces are introduced into syntax. You might simply try using "RT:any" and see if that helps.
    Last edited by jarvis24; 03-24-2010 at 04:53 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Same problem

    Hi I'm having the same problem with the message "row 6 has a missing value for one of it's LOC columns". The file I am using is the sample of the race IAT, except for that I changed the stimuli I didn't change anything else at all, so there shouldn't be anything wrong with the data file. Can anyone help me with this? The file I created is attached.

    Thanks!
    Kim
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    This looks like it may be a regional settings issue having to do with how .CSV files are delimited. Please see if this helps:

    http://empirisoft.com/support/showthread.php?t=148

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1

    I too am having a Missing LOC value problem

    blocktrialbgrwgrstylestimloctime*11001_ADMSNR.MPG.ff.avi(640X480)0,0,110000*
    The error message says Row 2 (which is the row referenced above) has a missing value for one of its LOC columns.

    Please advise.

    Lynne Cuellar

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    Usually it's due to a typo or something unusual on the prior line--i.e., if it says "line 45", look at line 44 also. Usually what it means is that something is messing with the usual input of the session file. It could occur on the same line where DirectRT gets confused--but again, it could occur on the previous line--e.g., if the previous trial has a stimulus with a location but no time value. Or if there is a missing WGR, or BGR column--that kind of thing.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1

    Still getting Missing value in LOC message (case 29210)

    Hi,

    I have tried implementing all of the suggestions that I thought were applicable to my file and I am still receiving this message. I have attached my input file in hopes that someone could help me see what the issue is.

    Thanks!

    Thesis_DirectRT-nottl3.csv
    Last edited by jason_reed; 11-03-2017 at 12:56 PM.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,008
    Cells G2 through G25 have nothing in them. You need a valid entry for a stim cell in them. Put at least a ~ for a blank screen.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. missing values
    By Jessica in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-29-2008, 10:25 AM
  2. SPSS .sav data is missing new variables?
    By Sonia in forum MediaLab Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-22-2007, 01:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •