Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Select words on the screen? (case 25804)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11

    Select words on the screen? (case 25804)

    I have a student group that would like to show participants a big screen full of words, and then have the participant click on words to choose them. The words would be highlighted as they are chosen, and then MediaLab would record the words that were chosen.

    Any guess on how to attempt this? If this can't be done, can you think of something similar -- another way for participants to view a big list of words and then choose some of them as their answer? Thanks!
    Joe
    Last edited by jason_reed; 01-17-2017 at 10:17 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    982
    Try a multiple response item type. You can display one word per answer choice. Each choice that is selected will show a check mark next to it, "highlighting" that it is chosen.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by jason_reed View Post
    Try a multiple response item type. You can display one word per answer choice. Each choice that is selected will show a check mark next to it, "highlighting" that it is chosen.
    Thanks Jason, for your amazingly prompt reply! I thought of this possibility. But my students want to put a whole bunch of words on the screen -- like 50 or 100. There must be a limit on multiple-response items, because it gave me a 'range error' when I tried (p50) or something like that. Any other thoughts? Thanks,
    Joe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    982
    To display a large number of words and allow for some form of selecting them in MediaLab, you would need to program it in HTML code and then run it as a Custom item in a .que file in MediaLab.

    You can find information about the Custom items here in the MediaLab manual:

    http://www.empirisoft.com/medialab/h...stom_items.htm
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Using Arabic Words
    By sbeshai in forum DirectRT v2016: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2012, 04:06 PM
  2. Multiple key presses for only two words
    By freuenm in forum DirectRT Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-02-2009, 10:33 PM
  3. Problem with 'Select and run a single questionnaire'
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 05:00 PM
  4. Select and run input file
    By Carlea in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2007, 02:09 PM
  5. allow subjects to select a picture for their response
    By sbp8 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2005, 10:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •