Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Tracking mouse clicks (case 3886)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Tracking mouse clicks (case 3886)

    How do we track the mouse click area in the output log files. And how do we assign specific area for mouse click?? please send samples of such issues.
    Last edited by jason_reed; 12-14-2015 at 08:12 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,317
    See the attached PDF. The sample is located in the folder:

    C:\DirectRT\Samples\6 v2006\cursor
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Assigning different mouse click areas

    I would like to know more about mouse click area. I have got 10 different clips and snap shots and all of them require different assigned click areas. The problem is how to assign in the notepad named cursor different area for 10 different snapshot which are going to run in a sinlge .csv file.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,317
    See above.
    Last edited by jarvis24; 09-24-2007 at 04:11 PM.

  5. #5

    track mouse cursor

    I have to do similar things. I need to track the area that the participant clicked with the mouse.

    I have complied the cursor.txt and specified the coordinates. However, when I run the program, I could not see the cursor. I only have one big picture as the stimuli and I have dividied the picture into 35 areas (not include the border of the picture.)

    Also, I could not find sample 6 in my version of DirectRT (v. 2006). I only have 5 samples. I would be thankful if you can post the sample file here.

    Thanks!
    Quote Originally Posted by jarvis24 View Post
    See the attached PDF. The sample is located in the folder:

    C:\DirectRT\Samples\6 v2006\cursor

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,317
    I've attached the 6th samples folder. I think it was missing from the first few releases of v2008 but should be included with more recent releases.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2

    same: can't see cursor

    Have specified regions. Using windows 7 and DirectRT 2008.
    Can't see cursor in order to move it to required region.
    Also cursor regions seem necessarily have to be named (1-255) in a way that conflicts with (overwrites?) the typical key codes.
    For some trials I want to use key codes (e.g. 30,38) for responses A & L
    for other trials i want the response to be with a mouse in a region (I called it 60 in my cursor.txt file). This seemed to work OK before (earlier version of directRT?) but getting no "love" out of DIrect RT 2008 on Windows 7.



    Quote Originally Posted by L4lab View Post
    I'm having the same problem (although I do have the sample 6 to refer to). I've been able to specify my regions, but cannot see the cursor when I run the program. How can I solve this? .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,317
    What version release of v2008 do you have? i.e., v2008.x.x.x?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by jarvis24 View Post
    What version release of v2008 do you have? i.e., v2008.x.x.x?
    Thanks for your query: my version is 2008.2.103.1115
    (on Windows 7)

  10. #10

    Invisible Cursor

    Hi there,

    I'm having the same issue as well. I have successfully designated mouse click areas, but my cursor is hidden.

    I'm using a program code that I was previously using on a different computer (also running DirectRT v2008), and it worked fine on that computer.

    The new computer (where the cursor keeps getting hidden) is running DirecrtRT version 2008.117.511.10.

    Thanks!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    75
    I believe the "invisible cursor" bug was worked out as of version 2010.3. Apologies for the inconvenience! I also think that the conflicting codes issue was worked out as well in 2010.3.
    Last edited by jarvis; 12-06-2012 at 12:24 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. File not loaded completely (.csv file format)
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2011, 09:20 AM
  2. How do I recreate the input file from a resulting data file?
    By teddenney in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-19-2007, 07:49 AM
  3. Assigning values to Scale Ranking
    By s_rooker in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2006, 08:56 PM
  4. Single RT with multiple stimuli?
    By jarvis24 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2006, 03:21 PM
  5. randomly assigning
    By Jessica in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2006, 10:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •