Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Runtime Error 52 (case 12995)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1

    Runtime Error 52 (case 12995)

    We've been receiving a "Runtime Error 52" on one of our experiments. This only occurs on one computer, even though we run the same program on two other computers as well (which have not had this problem). We've attempted to troubleshoot by restarting the computer, replacing the program with the copy on our servers, replacing the program with a copy from one of the other machines, and reinstalling Medialab.

    Are there any other options for resolving this problem?
    Last edited by jason_reed; 02-21-2014 at 01:44 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Hi vls89,


    What version(s) of DirectRT (ver.20xx.x.xxx) are you running on the computers in question? You can find this information by selecting Help > About DirectRT in the main DirectRT window. If the versions are different on the computers, please be sure to say which versions are on the nonfunctional and fucntional machines.


    One thing we can also do is look over your system diagnostics and see if there are any obvious problems that could be corrected. If you want to try that type "dxdiag" from the "Run" command on the Windows "Start" menu. You will get a complete diagnostic description of your system. If you then click "Save All Information" and send the resulting file to us, we'll take a look at it and see if we can see anything problematic. You can also check for some obvious problems here yourself--the display tab in particular may indicate you could benefit from a driver update or other action. Please be sure to label each dxdiag report as to whether it is from a nonfuctional or functional computer.


    Let's start here and see what this information may tell us.


    Jason
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,318
    VLS89, did you happen to find a resolution to this issue? Just curious. If not, try moving the file "C:\DirectRT\TrackPerformance.txt" to another folder or renaming it "TrackPerformance.bak".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    29
    Hello,

    We've run into a similar issue. At first glance nothing seems out of place. Drivers are updated, no problems reported, etc. I've attached the saved file to see if anything stands out.

    Thanks for looking into this!

    Nick
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Nick,

    Did you try deleting the file named "TrackPerfomance.txt" from the DirectRT folder? If not, please do that and see if it resolves the error.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2

    Same problem, here is the Dxdiag

    [QUOTE=jason_reed;21191]Nick,
    DxDiag.txt

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Hi risplab!

    Did you try deleting the file named "TrackPerfomance.txt" from the DirectRT folder? If not, please do that and see if it resolves the error.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by jason_reed View Post
    Hi risplab!

    Did you try deleting the file named "TrackPerfomance.txt" from the DirectRT folder? If not, please do that and see if it resolves the error.

    When I try to delete that file it says it cannot do it and that the file is corrupt. It won't let me move the file either

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Could you take a screenshot of this message and either upload it here or send it to me at support@empirisoft.com?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Risplab,

    What is the full version number (i.e., v.20xx.x.xxx) of your copy of DirectRT? You can find it by opening DirectRT and either looking in the top left corner of the main window or selecting Help>About DirectRT from the main menu bar.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  11. #11

    Same problem Error 52

    Hi,

    I have two lab computers that have the same problem. One has version of 2012, and the other is 2014 version. I have attached the diagnose files here. Thank you!2012.txt2014.txt
    ************************

    Quote Originally Posted by jason_reed View Post
    Hi vls89,


    What version(s) of DirectRT (ver.20xx.x.xxx) are you running on the computers in question? You can find this information by selecting Help > About DirectRT in the main DirectRT window. If the versions are different on the computers, please be sure to say which versions are on the nonfunctional and fucntional machines.


    One thing we can also do is look over your system diagnostics and see if there are any obvious problems that could be corrected. If you want to try that type "dxdiag" from the "Run" command on the Windows "Start" menu. You will get a complete diagnostic description of your system. If you then click "Save All Information" and send the resulting file to us, we'll take a look at it and see if we can see anything problematic. You can also check for some obvious problems here yourself--the display tab in particular may indicate you could benefit from a driver update or other action. Please be sure to label each dxdiag report as to whether it is from a nonfuctional or functional computer.


    Let's start here and see what this information may tell us.


    Jason

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Try deleting the file named TrackPerformance.txt from the DirectRT folder on the computer's hard drive.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  13. #13

    Error 52

    Hi,

    We have some version of 2012 and some of 2014 Direct RT. We wonder whether
    it would be problematic to program study in version 2012 and run in 2014 and vice verse?

    Also, the DirectRT programs shows error 52 every time when run files. I have attached the diagnose files here. We have tried all troubleshoot methods we could find. 2014.txt2012.txt2014.txt2012.txt

    Thank you!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Files that work in DirectRT 2012 or DirectRT 2014 should work in the other version of the software.

    You should make sure that you only have one copy of the DirectRT program folder installed on the computer, preferably on the computer's hard drive.

    If you see the Error 52 message, try deleting the TrackPerformance.txt file from the DirectRT program folder.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. runtime error '9' after video display (case 3411)
    By mathieu in forum MediaLab v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-21-2014, 09:36 AM
  2. Runtime error 52: Bad filename or number (case 10773)
    By mz802 in forum MediaLab v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2014, 11:15 AM
  3. Runtime error 52: Bad filename or number
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 11:23 PM
  4. Runtime Error 75 - Path Access Error
    By psyjoyce in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 11:27 AM
  5. Runtime Error 401
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 12:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •