Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Video location error (case 11665)

  1. #1

    Video location error (case 11665)

    I'm using Medialab 2012 on a new Windows computer. I'm presenting a series of movie files, but when I run the file, some of the videos randomly appear in the top-left corner of the screen with a black square in the middle where the videos should be located. All the videos run fine if opened directly through Windows Media Player or Quicktime. Which videos get shifted over changes mostly randomly every time the file is run. Has anyone had this problem and discovered a solution? I've read the other threads about other ways of presenting videos, but they all seem to give the user video playback controls and we can't have our participants pausing or rewinding the videos.
    Last edited by jason_reed; 11-21-2013 at 04:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,086
    What kind of item type are you using to play the video files in your .que file? What is the file type of your video files?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3

    File type

    I'm using the Movie type so that the video will start automatically and not give the participants any control over it. I've tried it with .mov files and with .wmv files so far and they both have this same problem. I've also changed the settings to both try it with the files set to open through QuickTime and Windows Media Player which similarly didn't change anything. I can't try the "Use Enhanced Video" option because it's grayed out and un-selectable in the toolbar.


    Quote Originally Posted by jason_reed View Post
    What kind of item type are you using to play the video files in your .que file? What is the file type of your video files?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    14
    I have encountered the same problem sometimes in my experiment, and as you said, this occurs randomly. In addition to this off-positioning phenomenon, I have an even bigger problem with MediaLab presenting my video files (.wmv) which was reported in this thread: http://www.empirisoft.com/support/sh...0236#post20236

    I haven't figured out a solution to either types of problem because I have no idea where it comes from but the administrator suggest me download and install a free codec called ffdshow, which supposedly makes MediaLab work better with MS videos. I am going to try it.

  5. #5
    I was wrong earlier about what programs I've set it to run through. I've tried Windows Media Player and VLC Media Player (these computers don't have Quicktime). The IT guy thinks it's a file-size issue, but I think the problem occurs too randomly for that to be the case.

    Quote Originally Posted by kitresearcher View Post
    I'm using the Movie type so that the video will start automatically and not give the participants any control over it. I've tried it with .mov files and with .wmv files so far and they both have this same problem. I've also changed the settings to both try it with the files set to open through Windows Media Player which similarly didn't change anything. I can't try the "Use Enhanced Video" option because it's grayed out and un-selectable in the toolbar.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,086
    You could try using an instruction item and putting your video file in the BackVideo field to see if that might get it to play normally.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  7. #7
    Thanks for the suggestion but we tried that, too, and it has the exact same problem as using the Movie file type.

    Quote Originally Posted by jason_reed View Post
    You could try using an instruction item and putting your video file in the BackVideo field to see if that might get it to play normally.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,086
    Take a look at the forum thread that ggcanna linked to. I would suggest starting there and trying to install the free codec to see if that might solve the problem.
    Last edited by jason_reed; 11-26-2013 at 11:44 AM.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  9. #9

    codec doesn't help

    Hi, I downloaded the codec but the problem remains. The videos randomly appear in the upper-left-hand corner of the screen with a big black box in the center where they should be located. At this point I've now tried both movie files and instruction files with a backvideo, Windows Media Player, VLC player, AND QuickTime.


    Quote Originally Posted by jason_reed View Post
    Take a look at the forum thread that ggcanna linked to. I would suggest starting there and trying to install the free codec to see if that might solve the problem.
    Last edited by jason_reed; 11-26-2013 at 11:44 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,086
    kiteresearcher,

    Can you please send me a copy of your .que and .exp files and a few of the movie files that have not played properly? If you would prefer to send them to me directly as opposed to uploading them to the forum, please send them to support@empirisoft.com.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Error messages after showing a video clip (case 2716)
    By sooyearn in forum DirectRT v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-29-2014, 10:43 AM
  2. runtime error '9' after video display (case 3411)
    By mathieu in forum MediaLab v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-21-2014, 09:36 AM
  3. Video Playback Problem fixed but RenderOutputPins Error
    By Kevin L. in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-11-2011, 12:07 PM
  4. If video completes, ask questions; if space bar, skip to next video?
    By jgalvin in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2010, 08:43 PM
  5. Video Error
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2009, 12:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •