Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Direct RT Time Question (case 11373)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4

    Direct RT Time Question (case 11373)

    Hi all,

    I am currently conducting an experiment where I need the stimulus to stay on the screen for 10 seconds and then automatically move on to the next stimulus even if the participant does not respond to the stimulus. I tried using the 10000! command in time, however it does not recognize that input. Any help or advice anyone has would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    Best,
    Ben
    Last edited by jason_reed; 05-05-2014 at 06:20 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    If you are trying to transition from the last stimulus of one trial to the first stimulus in the subsequent trial, type
    0-10000! in the MinMax cell of the row of the Style file that you are using in the Style cell(s) of your input file.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the quick reply. Is the minmax cell something that you create in the spreadsheet? If so, then specifying 0-10000! does not seem to work. I can post parts of the code that I am working with if that would help.
    Thanks!
    Best,
    Ben

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4
    PS
    When I do put 0-10000! in, direct rt gives me an error message stating that the conversion of string 0-10000! is not possible.
    Thanks,
    Best,
    Ben

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    The 0-10000! does not get put anywhere in the input file you create in a spreadsheet program like Excel. It goes into the Styles.drt file that your study uses. Take a look at style 1 in the attached file for an example.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4
    That worked! Thank you!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    My pleasure. Please don't hesitate to come back with any other questions or comments you may have. Good luck!
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  8. #8

    RT Task Error on OS7vDRT2008

    Quote Originally Posted by jason_reed View Post
    My pleasure. Please don't hesitate to come back with any other questions or comments you may have. Good luck!
    There seems to be a glitch in running RT tasks from the old DRT program (maybe also an issue in the styles files?) to this new version of the program, and this seems to be due to upgrading to the newer combined 2008/2010 install file for the new OS, as the new version software is not working properly in presenting some stimuli that previously worked with no issues in v2008 on the same computers before upgrading.

    Here is the issue: In a continuous performance task measuring reaction time, numbers are supposed to pop up on screen, and reaction time to those numbers (to press the space bar) is suppossed to be measured as their response to the particular pattern of numbers (when to press or when not to). However, after upgrading to the new file version (2008/2010), suddenly the number will no longer appear until AFTER the participant presses the spacebar (which defeats the purpose of measuring reaction time, of course...).

    We tried the the possible fix (mentioned above) of using 0-1000! in the styles files instead of 1000! (which we had used in the previous version). This did not seem to change the glitch in our case, however.

    I also updated the styles.drt file in a) the folder where the experiment is located; b) the C-drive in the DRT program folder; c) the new.drt file in the DRT program folder; and d) the styles2.drt auto download that came with the new software version.

    Please see attached RT task (CPTalt files) and styles file (newest version--tested with 1000 and 0-1000! versions).

    Please advise--is there some easy fix I am missing? Thank you very much.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    beklab,

    If you are still having this issue, what is the full version number-ver.20xx.x.xxx-of your copis of MediaLab and DirectRT? You can find it by opening the program and selecting Help > About MediaLab/DirectRT. And what version of Windows are you using on these machines?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1
    i have the same problem not solved

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    dodee123

    If you are still having this issue, what is the full version number-ver.20xx.x.xxx-of your copis of MediaLab and DirectRT? You can find it by opening the program and selecting Help > About MediaLab/DirectRT. And what version of Windows are you using on these machines?

    Please also make a copy of your DirectRT input file and either upload it here or send it me directly at support@empirisoft.com and I will be happy to take a look at; please reference case 11373 in any email.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Insert system time in a question
    By jzadra in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 10:38 PM
  2. recording reading time in Direct RT
    By mahima in forum DirectRT Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 10:53 AM
  3. Direct RT: Voice RT question
    By jae in forum DirectRT Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-23-2009, 04:08 PM
  4. Run time error with Voice Response question
    By lac14 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-23-2009, 12:44 PM
  5. Key release time and reaction time with simultaneous responses
    By Shannon in forum DirectRT Older Versions: General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-2008, 11:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •