Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: defining variable length of (string) variables within ML

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    32

    defining variable length of (string) variables within ML

    Blair,

    here's the next suggestion. As a default ML writes strings as (A50) into the syntax. Why not let the user decide how long the strings should be? You could add another parameter or field right next to the "write as text" field where one could enter the prefered length. Alternatively, by default ML could just write the maximum length within SPSS.

    And yes, I know that I could alter the syntax, but a) I can't (http://www.empirisoft.com/Support/showthread.php?t=403) and b) it would be much more convenient if one could chose.

    Thanks !
    Rene
    Last edited by Rene Kopietz; 08-14-2007 at 12:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,318
    I like that idea. Maybe have the write as text option be a value rather than a checkbox. 0 for numeric and > 0 for text, with the value defining the string length. Yes?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    32
    sounds great!

    But see also my other suggestion: one huge problem of ours would be solved, if certain string variables ould be written separately into an essay type'esque format

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,318

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    32
    Blair,

    is the above mentioned feature implemented yet? Independent from an additional data file for strings variables as accomplished by the provided workaround using the database thingie, it would still be great if one would have as much information (i.e., as long strings as possible) in one's SPSS matrix. There one could instantly have a look at all recorded string variables, without having to print them out or switch programs and so forth.

    Thanks,
    Rene

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,318
    See: http://www.empirisoft.com/Support/showthread.php?t=938

    Look down to notes regarding v2008.1.33.

Similar Threads

  1. String data will be saved as numeric in SPSS (case 10109)
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2013, 11:31 AM
  2. Numeric variable being saved as text
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 02:18 PM
  3. Insert <variable> in question wording not working
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-07-2011, 07:14 AM
  4. Scores and variables
    By jarvis24 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-18-2007, 03:25 PM
  5. Do identical variable names cause lost data?
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-22-2006, 12:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •