Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Variable substitutions (case 8030)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4

    Variable substitutions (case 8030)

    I am using MediaLab 2010. I am attempting to put a substitute the value of a variable in the wording for a question. The variable is assigned a value via a multiple select element. However, when I put it in <> in the question that references it, it does not properly display the variable's value. However, as an experiment, I made the multi select a fill in the blank, and it worked properly. Is there a way to make this work with multi select as well?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Hi Cory,

    Can you please tell me which item type in MediaLab you mean when you refer to "multiple select element." Do you mean a Multiple Response item?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4
    Yes, a multiple response item. I have "write as text" checked, which I thought would do it, but it doesn't seem to.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Hi Cory,

    You can't directly display the choices from a multiple response item in the wording of subsequent questions; that only works for scale or fill-in-the-blank items (as you found out). If you wanted to use participants' choices from a multiple response item, you could try using a resonses.xls file. That way, you can create a calculate variable that would use the input from the relevant choices of the multiple response items to display the kind of response you would like. Take a look at the Advanced Features section of the MediaLab manual for information about how to use the responses.xls file and let me know if you have any questions.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Referencing variable information
    By websterk3 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 11:39 AM
  2. Numeric variable being saved as text
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 02:18 PM
  3. Insert <variable> in question wording not working
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-07-2011, 07:14 AM
  4. Variable Durations for same Script file
    By JSalmon in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-09-2009, 11:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •