Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Display Previous Response

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Display Previous Response

    I'm creating an experiment in which participants first answer a certain question (describe an event), then answer a set of other multiple-choice questions, and are then supposed to view the event that they described (the essay that they wrote at the beginning of the experiment) and then answer a few multiple-choice questions about it.
    I don't know how to display the essay that they wrote to the participants, and didn't manage to find anything about it in your help guide. Any ideas?
    Last edited by jarvis24; 08-22-2007 at 04:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    You could use a fill-in-the-blank item rather than an essay. Then you could insert the response into later question wording. You can adjust the size and allowable content of the blank to accommodate more text. Note that Excel and SPSS can only read in the first 255 characters of a fill in the blank response though. If you need to record more of the essay in your data files, let me know and I can explain a way to do that.

    See: http://www.empirisoft.com/medialab/h...mtype.htm#fitb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    I wasn't the original poster here, but I have a similar question. I want to:

    a) get a response time and then tell the S what it was ("You completed the measure in X minutes, Y seconds")
    b) have Ss input items early on, do some intervening measures, and then answer questions about the item later (i.e. "Earlier you said...INSERT ITEM HERE. Now answer the following questions with respect to that.")

    I see that you mentioned using fill-in-the-blanks, which is fine, that's what I've done, but how do you insert the information from the data file back into the output? Thanks for any help you can give, or suggestions of how to get around it if it's not possible.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2
    You can do that by creating a response.xls file and listing the variables that you need to display in that spreadsheet, and then later including <variable name> at the approprate portion of a html display.

    If you hop down a few threads, I've got a post about obtaining previous responses. You can look at that excel file and the correponding html files in the details folder. This works provided you don't need any form of randomization though. I'm looking for a solution that lets me include these previous responses while randomizing between groups, so if anyone knows how to do this, do let me know please!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks, yusername! I'll have a look at that...but I may be back if I can't understand it. I've only been using MediaLab for a couple of weeks now and that looks pretty complex.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    So is it not possible to do this without using HTML? I've already done the rest of the questionnaire in standard Medialab format, and it's going to look pretty weird if a couple of random pages are opened with Internet Explorer and have a completely different format.

    I also don't know how to write to the response.xls file in the first place...I can't figure it out just from looking at your files. I don't know how to do this!!
    Last edited by merpy; 11-23-2007 at 01:56 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    I found a response to a similar question that looks like the best way to do this, but I only have medialab v2004!!!


    You can insert previous fill in the blank and scale responses into question wording and response options by placing the variable name in <> brackets. In your case, you might have a multiple response question like this:

    Code:

    What groups are important to you?

    1. <religion>
    2. <race>
    3. <politics>

    I know you can draw these from previous scale response and fill in the blank items doing it this way. Not sure if you can draw from previous multiple response items. If not, you could do that using the advanced features via the responses.xls file (see guide for more on that).

    Note that this requires v2006 or later, I believe.

    Hope that helps!
    Blair
    Last edited by jarvis24; 11-23-2007 at 04:24 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    You could do it with the Adavanced Features. You would just have to be sure to refer to the variable as it is normally written in the data file, e.g., myvar could be <myvar_01>, <myvar_02>, etc. Check out the section in the user's guid on Advance Features--it explains it pretty well and will also point you to a sample that illustrates this kind of stuff.
    Last edited by jarvis24; 11-23-2007 at 04:27 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    This works beautifully, and isn't nearly as complicated as I had thought. Thanks a lot!

Similar Threads

  1. Skipping based on previous responses
    By shendric in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-28-2014, 08:41 PM
  2. Insert previous reponses later as response options
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-2007, 05:44 PM
  3. Display pictures for fractions of a second?
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-2007, 08:04 AM
  4. Size of video file display
    By aschum in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-30-2006, 05:26 PM
  5. Collect RT but wait to display next stimulus
    By JBarton in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-29-2006, 09:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •