Empirisoft Support

Welcome to Empirisoft Support

Thread: Recording trial-based responses from Flash (case 434)

Recording trial-based responses from Flash (case 434)

Hi,

I'm fairly new to both MediaLab and DirectRT. I'm using the 2008 version of both softwares.

After browsing through the help files, I have some questions regarding the use of Flash files (SWF) in my experiment.
    First of all, I would like to know if it's possible to embed Flash files in DirectRT, because my experiment is trial-based and I prefer to use DirectRT.
    As far as I know, I can only do this in MediaLab... right?

Assuming I have to use MediaLab for this, I would very much like to know:
    1. What types of communication are possible between a Flash movie and MediaLab? My subjects will perform a Flash-based visual task and I want to record their responses, as well as their response time.
    2. Each subject will perform many trials, repeating the same Flash-based visual task. Can MediaLab handle trial-based results?

Thank you, Ziv
    Last edited by jason_reed; 01-15-2015 at 11:54 AM.

You are correct that DirectRT doesn't do Flash yet. MediaLab can handle it but capturing the data from Flash is trickier. Are you able to post data from Flash to a URL--e.g., sending a web browser a command to go to some URL with some optional arguments? If so, MediaLab could probably intercept the data from those data postings / commands to the browser. Does that make any sense?

Yes it makes sense. If I'm able to post the URL data from Flash, how do I record this in MediaLab? Thanks.

First take a look at the section on Custom Items in the user's guide. If you can embed a flash file within a custom item (e.g., an HTML page) and have it execute a post command, then MediaLab can probably intercept whatever data you like. Take a look at the samples too--then if you have any questions be sure to let me know! I'd be curious to see if you could pull this off--would be very cool.

Hi Blair,