Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Create a "decline to respond" option?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,328

    Create a "decline to respond" option?

    My advisor and I want to use horizontal scaled response items with a "decline to answer" option. The simplest way to do this, of course, is to simply have an option labeled "decline to answer." But the thing is, we'd like that option to be set apart from the other options in such a way that it won't appear to the participants like its part of the scale. We've wondered if there was a way to do this by, perhaps, physically distancing it from the scale, or by inserting a line between it and the scale.
    Is there a solution to this problem?
    Last edited by jarvis24; 06-17-2006 at 09:36 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2

    "decline to respond" option with a fill-in-the-blank?

    How do I create a "decline to respond" option with a fill-in-the-blank? I would also be willing to put in the "continue" button as an option to let people advance without answering.
    Last edited by jarvis24; 06-17-2006 at 09:38 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,328
    Separating the 'Decline' button from the others
    You can manually set the location of any given button by placing top and left parameter values after the text label like:
    Code:
     
    decline to answer (t.8,l.5)
    Another Option
    You could also enter "decline to answer" in the *button* label field (e.g., as opposed to "6" or whatever) and widen it by adding a width parameter to the top and left ones you now and entering "none" as the text label
    Code:
     
    none (t.8,l.5,w50)
    This way, you have a nice "decline to answer" *button* separated from the rest of the item options.

    Fill-in-the-blanks
    For fill-in the blank items, you normally have to type something to continue otherwise you get a prompt to do so. You can change this. The instructions for how to do it are contained in this file (be sure to follow the instructions carefully!):
    Code:
     
    C:\MediaLab\Styles\messages.txt
    In your case, you could replace:
    Code:
     
    103,"It would be ideal if you were to type something before continuing.", fill in the blank
    with:
    Code:
     
    103,"", fill in the blank
    That will tell MediaLab to skip the prompt and allow subjects to continue without a response.

    IMPORANT--Be sure to place the substitute.txt file in YOUR experiment folder unless you want the changes to affect ALL experiments.
    Last edited by jarvis24; 06-17-2006 at 10:04 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Make participant move slider before pressing "continue"
    By JBeaudry in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 04:07 PM
  2. "Go Back" option
    By Pamela in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Suggestions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2006, 03:37 PM
  3. "Go Back" option
    By Pamela in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2006, 03:37 PM
  4. Get a value of "none" as a response option?
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 08:00 AM
  5. Another window called "Form1" appears
    By jarvis24 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-28-2005, 04:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •