Empirisoft Support

Welcome to Empirisoft Support

Thread: Generating and - saving - random values from responses.xls files

Generating and - saving - random values from responses.xls files

[note: thread title changed by moderator]

I've been advised that MediaLab is a good tool to use for factorial surveys. I've searched the user guide but can't find any mention of them- can anyone advise me about how to construct one? I'm new to MediaLab so basics are very much appreciated.
    Last edited by jarvis24; 11-24-2009 at 05:20 AM.

The manual doesn't actually mention factorial surveys, because it has enough power to do factorial surveys, as well as many other types of experiments.

Have you tried creating a questionnaire or experiment file yet? You may want to take a look at the samples while first starting out - from there, try building your own questionnaire.

Hi newell,

Thanks for the advice, I've just had a look at the samples. I've almost found what I need- this bit:

You can insert the value of a subject's prior response to any fill-in-the blank or scale response item by typing the appropriate variable name surrounded by < > within any question wording text. For example, if you had previously asked subjects about their race using a fill-in-the-blank question or a scale response and you had called this variable race, then you could insert the subjects response in a subsequent question wording like this: What percentage of your friends are <race>? For scale responses, the text label of the selected response is used.