Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Runtime Error 70: Permission Denied (case 34283)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    2

    Runtime Error 70: Permission Denied (case 34283)

    Today while 16 participants were simultaneously running the same experiment on MediaLab, 4 of the PCs threw a runtime error 70 and exited MediaLab. The experiment file runs from a server to which the PCs are all linked. Some of the PCs are set up to save to the same folder/data file, but not all of the ones that had the error. We were thinking that maybe multiple PCs were attempting to access the data file at the same time, and so getting a locked file message resulting in the runtime error. Is there something about simultaneously running 20 PCs from an experiment residing on a server that we need to be aware of? Does running the experiment from the same server folder/file cause problems? Attempts to recreate the error in a controlled way have failed so far (e.g., running the experiment on two PCs and both operators hitting the keys at the same time), but this afternoon while running 10 participants we again had runtime errors on several of the machines - even though each was set up to access a different data file to store participants responses... Any ideas?
    Last edited by jason_reed; 04-17-2019 at 08:45 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,089
    MediaLab works most reliably when the computer is running the .exp and .que files on the same hard drive on which MediaLab is installed. Many people can and have successfully used MediaLab like you are with a server. However, moving the files onto a server away from the hard drive where MediaLab is installed introduces new possible layers that could interfere with running the program. Here are a few things you might want to check.

    1) Do all of the user accounts running MediaLab have full read/write access-preferably Administrator- to the place with the data folder?

    2) Did the internet or connection to the server possibly go down while running MediaLab?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    2

    About running from a server...

    1) Do all of the user accounts running MediaLab have full read/write access-preferably Administrator- to the place with the data folder?

    No, since this is a student project, the account does not have administrator rights to the data folder. The "permission denied" nature of the error would certainly suggest this might be the issue. I think that the best solution is to run the EXP and QUE files from the hard drive, rather than from the server - though this does add a level of work that I assumed would not be necessary.

    2) Did the internet or connection to the server possibly go down while running MediaLab?

    As far as I can tell, the answer to this is also No.

    You mentioned that others successfully do this - is that b/c they have administrator rights to the server do you think? I can't help thinking that this has something to do with multiple users attempting to access the same files at the same time...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,089
    It is indeed possible that your situation of having more than one computer station trying to remotely access a single server running the same files and write to the data folders on it-be they one or multiple-is the source of interference. It's unique in each situation like this because of the server set up and exactly what does or does not occur if more than one computer station is trying to use that server.

    I would agree that the most reliable resolution is to put the .que and .exp files and any other files they need to run on each individual computer station and having the data write to those same individual computers.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  5. #5
    Same error here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,089
    Hello Violeta123!

    Have you tried any of the recommendations in this thread or any other actions to resolve your situation?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Runtime Error 52 (case 12995)
    By vls89 in forum DirectRT v2018: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-02-2016, 11:51 AM
  2. Runtime Error 3043, Disk or network error (case 18795)
    By soohyun1110 in forum MediaLab v2018: How Do I...
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-30-2015, 11:38 AM
  3. Runtime error 52: Bad filename or number
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2011, 12:23 AM
  4. Runtime Error 75 - Path Access Error
    By psyjoyce in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 12:27 PM
  5. Runtime Error 401
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 01:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •