Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Select 2 out of 4 pics? (case 31720)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    3

    Select 2 out of 4 pics? (case 31720)

    Hi there,

    I want participants to be able to complete a mental rotation task by looking at a picture that has five objects, one on the left and four on the right. Two of the four objects on the right are the same as the one on the left and I want participants to choose the correct two.

    How do I get participants to choose the 2 out of 4? Say if their options are to press 1 for object 1, 2 for object 2, 3 for object 3 and 4 for object 4?

    Originally, I created a rt1.txt file that said:
    #1,1,2
    #2,3,4
    but then I realized that it only gives them the option to choose 1,3 or 1,4 or 2,3 or 2,4 but not 1,2 or 3,4. This is alright because my answer key for whatever reason has no 1,2 or 3,4 for correct answers but the task then only works if people do not choose 1,2 or 3,4 because otherwise, it will not move onto the next pic.

    Am I missing something? Is there something else I could be doing instead that would work better?

    Thanks,
    Maddy
    Last edited by jason_reed; 03-27-2019 at 04:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,088
    Maddy,

    You have your DirectRT file set up to force participants to respond with the correct answers before a trial will conclude and move on to the next line of the .csv input file. Did you want them to be able to press an incorrect key but then have the program advance to a different trial?
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. How to randomly select 6 sets of trials and randomize them afterwards. (case 27392)
    By Researcher321 in forum DirectRT v2018: How Do I...
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-14-2017, 08:49 AM
  2. Select words on the screen? (case 25804)
    By jwayand in forum MediaLab v2018: How Do I...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2017, 12:05 PM
  3. Problem with 'Select and run a single questionnaire'
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 05:00 PM
  4. Select and run input file
    By Carlea in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2007, 02:09 PM
  5. allow subjects to select a picture for their response
    By sbp8 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2005, 10:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •