Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dot Probe

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3

    Dot Probe

    I am programming a dot probe task and I am unsure of how to randomize the location of the dot. Basically, within a trial I have two words on the left and right side of the screen (matched for length and freq. – so these words will always be paired together). A picture of a dot replaces one of the words, and the participant is to indicate the location of the dot. I want the dot to randomly replace either the left or right word as opposed to having the dot replace the same word for each participant. How do I go about randomizing dot location (left or right) within a given trial?
    Any comments are welcome!
    Last edited by jarvis24; 10-10-2008 at 04:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,328
    Hmm. Perhaps, you could use the randomization functions to set the location values when DirectRT reads your input file--i.e., randomize the actual LOC values of the DOT image. Take a look at this link and see if it's helpful:

    http://www.empirisoft.com/directrt/h...dom_values.htm

    For example, when placing a stimulus image of a dot, you might try the following for a LOC value:

    rand(.25,.75),.5,0

    That would randomly place it on the left or right side of the screen, and half way down. Does that make sense?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thank you!
    This is exactly the function I need,
    -D

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Although not a major concern, I am now unsure as to what values I should be using for a response. I have participants pressing left (203) and right (205) arrows to indicate the location of the (now randomized) dot. Is there an easy way to set the response option so that in the output 'true' and 'false' values will be accurate? In other words, will I be able to easily see if participants made a correct response if the dot is randomly placed on the left or right side?
    Thanks,
    D

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,328
    If the correctness will be determined on the fly via the random function, then the "Correct" column won't be of much help. It would have to be determined later on as a function of the stimulus placement. Which I think you can get from the actual input file used because DirectRT saves the post-randomization individual input files when you use those functions.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1
    I am also programming a dot probe task and I was wondering would it be possible to use rand() to select from 3 LOC choices? I want to display an object in a quadrant that I have not previously used for a trial. Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Dot probe detection task? (case 14284)
    By hehe in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-08-2014, 02:10 PM
  2. Probe Task Samples and Documentation (case 1590)
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Sharing Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-25-2014, 04:25 PM
  3. dot probe task
    By maya in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2007, 05:10 PM
  4. Startle Probe and TTL to Biopac?
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2007, 01:07 PM
  5. Visual Probe in DirectRT
    By surpass in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2006, 04:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •