Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: screen flashes between each trial (case 5751)

  1. #1

    screen flashes between each trial (case 5751)

    Hi, I just started using Medialab on a new machine (Vista), and between each trial, the screen flashes the background color. This didn't happen on my old machine. Is there some setting I can change so that it will seamlessly change from one trial's image to the next, without the flash?

    thanks.
    Last edited by jason_reed; 12-15-2015 at 11:19 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    Does it do the same thing with the basic sample that comes with MediaLab? If so, then look to see that you have other programs closes, the Windows task bar not set to "always be on top" and maybe even closing the widget bar that hangs out on the right side of the screen. Basically first thing I would check for is stuff that might be competing for screen time.

  3. #3
    Yes, it does it with the samples as well. I closed down all other programs, including the widgets, and the windows task bar is not on top. Any other ideas? I really appreciate your help!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    What version of MediaLab are you running (i.e., 200x.x.x)--I'll check it out here on Vista and see if it does the same thing with the basic sample.

  5. #5
    I'm running Medialab 2008.1.22. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    Hmm.. Seems to work fine here--at least the basic sample that comes with MediaLab. Not sure what this could be. Did you change the colors in the preferences at all, or are you using a quickstyle anywhere? When you say it changes to the background color, what color is that? And what color does it go to when the next question resumes? I ask all this because normally (by default) those colors are the same.

  7. #7
    Yes, I changed the background color to a blue - blue is always the background color. So, in between each frame, there is a quick flash where the screen is completely blue, and then it shows the next frame, where the background is blue again. This is a problem for 2 reasons:

    1. I want participants to make several ratings of one photo, so for several frames I have the same photo, with just the rating scale changing. It is distracting that after each response, the photo flashes away and back. In the old version I used to use, if something was in the same place from frame to frame, it would just stay there.
    2. At one point I want to show a black screen, and then the black screen with a fixation point. I can't have a flash of blue in between the two screens or the effect won't work.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Any updates?

    Are there any updates related to this issues? I'm also experiencing a similar issue where I apply my own mystyle.mlq file, but between each question, the program has to reapply my blue custom background over the default MediaLab background, producing the flash sensation.

    Is there a way to change the default background and font color, other than using mystyles, in such a way that it does not produce the flashing effect?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    A newer version you can try..

    www.empirisoft.com/download/ml2008/ml2008.1.33e.exe

    Please let me know if it helps,
    Blair

  10. #10

    same issue

    Is there any solution to this issue?

    I have the same problem where a questionnaire has a non default background and for every item the default background flashes.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,018
    What version of MediaLab are you using? You can find the full version number (ver. 20xx.x.xxx) by opening MediaLab and selecting Help>About MediaLab from the main toolbar.
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    1

    Same issue - screen blinking blue

    Hi!

    I have medialab v. 2014.1.127.

    I have changed the background color to white, as I am using HTML files with white background and somehow the standard background is blue?

    So now it is "flashing" blue between each condition in my experiment, which can affect my results.

    Any way to change the standard coloring to white?

    Thanks in advance for any help!

    EDIT: I found preferences and figured out how to change the background color! It still flashes though, not blue but a regular black to white flash. Not between each condition, but like each 5th maybe? Still, a much better scenario than my previous situation.
    Last edited by idamerete; 03-01-2017 at 09:36 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,018
    Hi idamerete!

    Have you tried changing the settings in the Font and Color menu of MediaLab as described here in the MediaLab manual:

    http://www.empirisoft.com/medialab/h...tm#prefs_fonts

    You could also try using quickstyle files as described here in the MediaLab manual:

    http://www.empirisoft.com/medialab/h...fs_quickstyles
    Jason Reed
    Empirisoft Software Support Specialist

Similar Threads

  1. Screen Flashes when Video Plays
    By jebert in forum DirectRT Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 06:12 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-26-2008, 05:53 AM
  3. Multiple Responses per trial!
    By Shears in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2007, 05:39 PM
  4. Termination mid-trial
    By michelle_jarick in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2007, 04:46 PM
  5. Combine clear screen with compound screen
    By shendric in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2006, 06:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •