Empirisoft Support

    Welcome to Empirisoft Support
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Avoiding blank screens when using unconditional skipping

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309

    Avoiding blank screens when using unconditional skipping

    [edited from support email]

    Quick question. In my experiment file, I have a question for participants to indicate which number session they had just completed. After this, I want to be able to give particular measures based on the session they entered. I used a response.xls file to accomplish this. However, I am running into a little annoyance. I'm not sure how to get MediaLab to completely skip the measure (without an extra screen) if it's not the appropriate measure. As it is now, I have an page in the beginning that says "Please press continue." with the skip value tagged onto the variable for this page. If the measure is to be skipped, the skip value will send it to the last page that also says "Please press continue." This works fine, but it does present a weird situation where you may be pushing the continue button three times in a row, and I think this might confuse participants. I did not set the skip value to the first variable of the next survey because the surveys need to be randomiz ed, and I can't know which survey the next one should be. Is there any way to avoid this? Any help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,309
    Could you skip them to a blank instruction page with a duration value of (d1) so that it automatically continues without them having to click anything?

    Great, I didn't think of that. Thanks so much!

  3. #3
    Thanks for the info mate

Similar Threads

  1. Display blank responses as blank instead of as <variable>
    By Tess in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-18-2008, 10:04 AM
  2. Unconditional skipping fails in v2006.2.39
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2008, 07:11 PM
  3. Capturing screens as images using PrintScreen?
    By jarvis24 in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2008, 04:23 PM
  4. Randomizing and Instruction screens
    By Gary London in forum DirectRT Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-19-2007, 01:01 PM
  5. Formatting Feedback and Instruction Screens
    By jarvis24 in forum MediaLab Older Versions: How Do I...
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-17-2006, 10:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •